Genre: Science Fiction

Girls with Sharp Sticks by Suzanne Young | ARC Review

Posted March 18, 2019 in Books, Reviews / 1 Comment
Girls with Sharp Sticks by Suzanne Young | ARC Review

Thank you so much to Simon and Schuster Children’s Publishing and NetGalley for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review! I’ve only read one book by Suzanne Young and it wasn’t my favorite, and I somehow completely missed the hype train for her successful The Program series. Couples with the fact that I’m not a huge dystopian fan, I didn’t think much of Girls with Sharp Sticks when I first came across it on Goodreads. However, I started seeing more and more of my trusted blogger and reviewer friends post about how intensely good the story was and […]


Feed Review OR: Barely Surviving the Quipocalypse

Posted September 17, 2018 in Books, Boyfriend Book Reviews, Reviews / 6 Comments
Feed Review OR: Barely Surviving the Quipocalypse

I’m not digging up a quote. I can’t think of one that’s worth it. Yep. That’s how this review is gonna go. Soooo. Wow. Uh. People like this? Like, a lot? Hoo boy. Well get your pitchforks and torches ready, y’all. This is gonna be a bumpy ride. Look friends. I don’t mean to get all elitist. I really don’t. But this was a real slod. To be fair I listened to this via audiobook so perhaps the person reading it is also painted my perception. But honestly man. I keep going through the book again and again in my […]


Scythe by Neal Shusterman | Is This Even Dystopian?

Posted June 11, 2018 in Boyfriend Book Reviews, Reviews / 6 Comments
Scythe by Neal Shusterman | Is This Even Dystopian?

Hello again dear readers. Another one I was excited for. Is this a common theme? It’s almost as if I only read books I like… Lucky me, eh Cristina? Any who this one was a real hum-dinger. A real page turner at a scant 435ish pages, I blistered through this one shortly after I bought it. Now after having read this and Thunderhead, I am looking back even more positively on this one. This one is worth your time if you want something that breathes fresh life into a horse that (let’s all be honest) has been beaten and re-beaten […]


The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza | Review

Posted May 14, 2018 in Reviews / 0 Comments
The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza | Review

I’m not sure what I expected when I started this book, to tell you the truth, but it certainly wasn’t what I read. The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza took me by surprise, as I suppose any end of the world YA story that starts in a Starbucks would. Our protagonist, Elena, is immediately established to be ~unique~ as she was the product of a virgin birth, explained by the happening of parthenogenesis, which was cool in theory but I have no idea if it could ever happen in real life to a human, but I just went along with it, […]


Warcross by Marie Lu | Review of Possibly the Most Hyped Book of 2017

Posted January 17, 2018 in Reviews / 5 Comments
Warcross by Marie Lu | Review of Possibly the Most Hyped Book of 2017

In some ways I don’t even know how to begin reviewing Warcross, because there is SO MUCH going on in this book, and it was quite possibly the most hyped book of 2017. It was EVERYWHERE, at every bookish event, conference, or festival people were going crazy trying to get their hands on an ARC. I’ll admit I was wary because I’m not the biggest gamer (I enjoy the Sims, Roller Coaster Tycoon, Nancy Drew, etc. but not really games in the vein of WOW, LOL, etc.) so I didn’t know how much would go over my head. Luckily, Max […]


Ready Player One by Ernest Cline | Boyfriend Book Reviews

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline | Boyfriend Book Reviews

Boyfriend Book Reviews is a feature where my book-loving boyfriend, Max, reads and reviews YA that I either haven’t yet read or is outside of my current TBR. If you want a thorough and thoughtful perspective on a guy’s take on YA, keep reading! “Three hidden keys open three secret gates Wherin the errant will be tested for worthy traits And those with the skill to survive these straits Will reach The End where the prize awaits” –Cline, 6. As someone who represents himself as an avid gamer, I confess I felt remiss in not reading this book sooner when […]


April Book Buddies Review: These Broken Stars

Posted May 1, 2015 in Book Buddies Reviews, Reviews / 3 Comments
April Book Buddies Review: These Broken Stars

Cristina & Lauren Read: Book Buddies is a discussion style review I participate in every other month with my friend Lauren who runs the blog Bookmarklit. We choose a themed book for the month, read it, and the have a discussion where we both discuss themes and aspects that really stood out to us.Book Buddy Reviews are posted during the last week of the month.You can see our review in a Q&A format with half posted here, and half on Lauren’s blog! *This discussion contains some spoilers. 1) The premise of These Broken Stars relies on an often overused romance […]


Awakening by Shannon Duffy- ARC Review

Posted April 7, 2015 in ARCs, Reviews / 8 Comments
Awakening by Shannon Duffy- ARC Review

This book invaded my dreams. Not only is this book about dreams (and nightmares) as a method of controlling society, but the night after I read it some of the terrorscape scenes made their way into my dreams. It was thrilling and scary at the same time, but when I woke up I knew this book had successfully held my attention! Awakening presents a unique premise for a dystopian, using technology connected to each citizen’s nervous system to make it impossible for them to sleep without government controlled machines that provide “pleasant” dreams (and subliminal messaging) and using nightmares as […]


5 Reasons Why Fairest is Everything a Novella Should Be

Posted March 2, 2015 in Books, Five Star Reads, Reviews / 14 Comments
5 Reasons Why Fairest is Everything a Novella Should Be

It’s no secret that The Lunar Chronicles is a fan favorite for most YA fans. After the perfection that is Cress, I could hardly contain my despair at having to wait for Winter’s release date. When Marissa Meyer (who is a literary goddess, I mean, she’s influenced by fairy tales AND Sailor Moon) announced that there would be a novella chronicling Levana’s backstory, I knew it would be fabulous. However, even I underestimated how #flawless it would be. Below are 5 reasons why Fairest is the standard to which I will forever hold all YA novellas up against. Villainous Characters […]


Flailing Everywhere Over Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini- A Raving Review

Posted January 19, 2015 in Books, Five Star Reads, Reviews / 15 Comments
Flailing Everywhere Over Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini- A Raving Review

  “A crucible’s craving is her mechanic’s mandate.” I usually write very calm, analytical reviews. In fact, I pride myself on it. I like being able to look back on my reviews and have a clear and coherent message as to my thoughts on a book. However, much of that I fear is going to go out the window with this review because I cannot stop flailing over how much I loved this book. It’s only the second book I’ve picked up so far in 2015 but it’s already become my first five star read of the year! Reading this […]